top of page

More about Soren Michelsburg

My name is Sören Michelsburg and I am running for lord mayor of Heidelberg. 

I am 34 years old, was born in Reutlingen, and have been living in Heidelberg for 13 years. 

Heidelberg is now my home. I live here with my wife. Heidelberg is a great place to live, and I am happy to have found a home here. 

Below I invite you to learn more about me.



In my free time I do a lot of sports, which makes a good balance to the stressful everyday life. I took part in the HeidelbergMan for the first time in 2013 and triathlon has fascinated me ever since. This year I successfully completed the "Ironman" distance of 3.8 km swimming, 180 km cycling and 42 km running in Roth in just over 9 hours.

Besides the triathlon, I am passionate about cooking and I like to cook for friends. The third hobby is football. I' ve had a season ticket with VfB Stuttgart for 15 years. Even my father was a fan and passed the passion on to us children.

childhood and adolescence

I was born on October 8th, 1988 in Reutlingen as the third of four children and I grew up there. My mother worked as a special education teacher, my father as a secondary school teacher.

In my youth I attended the Albert Einstein High School, where I graduated from high school in 2008. Since my confirmation, I was involved in the local church community and organized youth clubs and camps. At times I was on the executive committee of the youth work in Reutlingen. 

Studium und Arbeit.jpg

study and work

After school I completed a voluntary social year in a bilingual daycare center in Strasbourg. There I was responsible for cooking meals for the children and the staff. In the afternoon I also spent time with the children. After that I started an apprenticeship as a chef at the Hotel Traube Tonbach in Baiersbronn before I came to Heidelberg to study. I studied political science, economics and Protestant theology at university and started my legal internship at the Elisabeth von Thadden School in 2016. I have been working as a teacher since 2017, now with special tasks in digital transformation as a senior teacher (Oberstudienrat). 


In 2013 I was elected to the district board of the SPD Heidelberg, first as an assessor, from 2015 as deputy district chairman and since the end of 2018 I have been the district chairman. I was involved in local politics from the start and was a member of the Handschuhsheim district advisory board from 2014 to 2019. On the municipal council I have been responsible for urban development, housing, transport, climate protection and children and young people since 2019. 



I have been living in Handschuhsheim with my wife Martina since 2013. We met and fell in love during our studies and got married in 2014. My siblings live in Baden-Württemberg.

Would you like to learn more about my career?

I invite you to get to know me.




Would you like to find out more? Get in touch today.

bottom of page